Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Palm Pilot for cheap serial LCD — Parallax Forums

Palm Pilot for cheap serial LCD

hinvhinv Posts: 1,252
edited 2007-02-08 03:37 in Propeller 1
Hi,

I have been thinking of writing a simple palm program to make it useful as a serial Character/Graphic LCD.
But this idea is so simple I would think that someone would have allready done this. I hope so because I am not experienced in palm programming. I know there is terminal emulators for the palm pilot which would let you do character IO, but how about graphics?
Here are the advantages:
    CHEAP! Palm IIIx units are going for less than $20 on ebay. Low power Built in power supply( you could possibly even power a prop from it) Can take input from stylus or screen keyboard 5 buttons for input Built in backlight Did I say CHEAP!!!!! Portable, and somewhat ruggedized Plenty of processing power to compute things like circles squares, bezier curves
For years, I have been a palm pilot user, but I wished for something like the prop attached to play with IO like I did back in high school on the 6502+8255, or on the 68HC11 mcu.
Now I have a prop, and I want things like storage, good screen, portable development environment, etc that could be developed for a palm pilot.
Of course, I could use my Dell Axim, since it allready has TCL ported to it(which I am formilliar with), and a 3.3V Serial port, but they aren't cheap, emulators are not as numerous(my axim can emulate a palm pilot).

Has anybody seen this kind of stuff done allready?

Thanks,
Doug

Comments

• bassmasterbassmaster Posts: 181
    edited 2007-02-07 14:33
    I think the Ipod screen is easier to access, plus its color. Sparkfun also has a nice graphical display for cheap.
  • BergamotBergamot Posts: 185
    edited 2007-02-07 14:50
    I think he means using the *intact* palm with some custom software running on it.
  • hinvhinv Posts: 1,252
    edited 2007-02-07 15:01