Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Need help understanding FullSerialDuplex ... — Parallax Forums

Need help understanding FullSerialDuplex ...

jmlpropjmlprop Posts: 9
edited 2007-02-05 15:16 in Propeller 1
Hello All,
I am new to the prop and trying to understand the code associated with serial data transfer. It is my assumption that the code below declares some varibles along with transmit & recieve buffers. Public method "Start" accepts these parameters passed to it
to set up the baud rate, mode,·ect., checks to see if a cog has started and returns its boolean value.

·Am I on track so far ?

·I need to understand this process fully for a project that I am working on.

·If so, could someone please explain the following lines of code more detail.

··stop
· longfill(@rx_head, 0, 4)
· longmove(@rx_pin, @rxpin, 3)
· bit_ticks := clkfreq / baudrate
· buffer_ptr := @rx_buffer
· okay := cog := cognew(@entry, @rx_head) + 1

''************************************
''*· Full-Duplex Serial Driver v1.1· *
''*· (C) 2006 Parallax, Inc.········ *
''************************************

VAR
· long· cog···················· 'cog flag/id
· long· rx_head················ '9 contiguous longs
· long· rx_tail
· long· tx_head
· long· tx_tail
· long· rx_pin
· long· tx_pin
· long· rxtx_mode
· long· bit_ticks
· long· buffer_ptr
····················
· byte· rx_buffer[noparse][[/noparse]16]
· byte· tx_buffer[noparse][[/noparse]16]·

PUB start(rxpin, txpin, mode, baudrate) : okay

'' mode bit 0 = invert rx
'' mode bit 1 = invert tx
'' mode bit 2 = open-drain/source tx
'' mode bit 3 = ignore tx echo on rx

· stop
· longfill(@rx_head, 0, 4)
· longmove(@rx_pin, @rxpin, 3)
· bit_ticks := clkfreq / baudrate
· buffer_ptr := @rx_buffer
· okay := cog := cognew(@entry, @rx_head) + 1
·

Comments

• Mike GreenMike Green Posts: 23,101
    edited 2007-02-04 22:42
    The stop stops any existing running serial driver if say you reinitialized your program without previously stopping it.