Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
DIRS and PINS — Parallax Forums

DIRS and PINS

Paul NorsworthyPaul Norsworthy Posts: 2
edited 2012-12-02 14:08 in BASIC Stamp
This may sound like a stupid question, but I'm new at this and a little confused.· In the Parallax Basic Stamp Manual 2.0 it mentions DIRS and PINS.· Are these acronyms?· I am confused as to exactly what these are.· Can someone explain?

Paul

Comments

• FranklinFranklin Posts: 4,747
    edited 2007-02-03 19:18
    Pins are the pins on the basic stamp that can be inputs or outputs (check the schematics) DIRS sets whether the pin is an input or an output.

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    - Stephen
  • Paul NorsworthyPaul Norsworthy Posts: 2
    edited 2007-02-03 19:32
    Stephen,

Does DIRS stand for something or is it a short form?
  • Bruce BatesBruce Bates Posts: 3,045
    edited 2007-02-03 19:43
    Paul -

There is more than one type of PBASIC Stamp. At the top of the hierarchy, there is the BS-1 (of which there is only one) and the BS-2 series (more than one).

The BS-1 varient uses DIRS (direction - input or output) and PINS, PIN, P0-P7 (pin ports) and the BS-2 varient uses DIRS (direction - input or output) and INS/OUTS, INx, OUTx for the pin port latch).

Thus the following serve as a few simple examples:

To address a pin port:

BS-1 BS-2

Pin0 In0

DIRS works pretty much the same between varients. The BS-2 has 16 pin ports, and the BS-1 has 8 pin ports. The PBASIC Help file has a good deal more information on these statements, as does the PBASIC Reference Manual.

Regards,

Bruce Bates

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    <!--StartFragment -->
  • jhoyozajhoyoza Posts: 72
    edited 2007-02-03 23:41