Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
First impressions of the Propeller — Parallax Forums

First impressions of the Propeller

Tom BamptonTom Bampton Posts: 29
edited 2007-02-01 19:50 in Propeller 1
I have a tendency to forget about anything that is not immediately pertinent. This can lead to seemingly simple questions being difficult to answer, the most common with me being "what have you worked on ?" ... hell if I know, all I know is what I'm currently working on, and that's usually heavily NDA'd. Thus, I thought it might be useful to write up my first impressions of the Propeller before they suffer the effects of my selective memory.

Background

For the purposes of perspective, some background is in order. I am a professional programmer by "day" - I work from home, so "day" does not always mean the same as "when the sun is up" - and dabble with electronics as a hobby.

I have been keeping an eye on Parallax since I first stumbled across them a few years ago because I knew that eventually they would release a product that interested me. That happened when the Propeller shipped. I almost wet myself when I first read about it. It seemed like it could be the holy grail that would allow me to create some of my more insane pointless ideas, of which I have many. Of course, there's no such thing as a holy grail, but there is such a thing as a big time saver ... and that is how I see the Propeller.

In reading this post, it is worth keeping a couple of things in mind: Although I am not one for thinking inside the box, I would be foolish to deny that I have a lot of preconceived notions towards development tools. I intend everything that I say here as constructive criticism, it is not intended to cause offense.

So, without further ado ...

Spin