Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
What's your input to this Sensor Project? — Parallax Forums

What's your input to this Sensor Project?

th1961th1961 Posts: 6
edited 2007-02-01 12:13 in General Discussion
Hello everyone,

I am trying to introduce electronics to my two sons (& myself) by building a fun project with them. You guys have some great projects that you are dicussing and I heard this is the Best place to start, so we are hoping you can give us some direction. I did come across this web page on infrared train detection·( http://www.mrollins.com/irled.html ). The gentleman contacted me and said that his solution will Not work because the IR is not sensitive enough. I've never done this type of thing before, I'm not an engineer,··I do have some technical skills. I am a web developer and I did programming in RPG II for the IBM AS/400 for about 10 years; so it's a learning experience for me as well.·

Are you familiar with table hockey? Here is a link to what the game looks like:
http://zebtech.com/th/photelectric-sensor-diagram.jpg

Here is an overview of what we want to do:

THE ISSUE:
When playing table hockey, sometimes the little 1 inch diameter puck goes into the net and bounces out so fast that sometimes we are not sure if the puck went into the net or not.· The red goal you see in the picture is about 3 inches high by 4 inches wide.

THE SOLUTION:
When the little black puck fully crosses the red goal line and goes into the goal net, we would like to turn on a red light for 4 seconds indicating that a goal was scored. I don't think this can be acheived with one sensor, but a series of sensors that create a "curtain" across the entire opening of the goal. When just one of these sensors are tripped I want to turn on the red light. *A special note, the puck cannot be modified in any way.*

Here are some "Mock-Up photos" of how it might work:
http://zebtech.com/th/mock-up1a.jpg
http://zebtech.com/th/mock-up2a.jpg