Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Modbus RTU on a Prop — Parallax Forums

Modbus RTU on a Prop

Damien AllenDamien Allen Posts: 103
edited 2007-01-27 17:23 in Propeller 1
Hi i'm a long time reader, first time poster. Thanks for the useful info i've already gleaned from these forums.

Background:
I'm new to the propellor but I get by in Spin but ASM is beyond me at the moment. I learn by attempting to build things, so I decided to build a wireless temperature probe. Which I've suceeded in doing by using a couple of xbee modules and a MAX6674 thermocouple to digital converter and outputting the results to a parallel LCD. Now i've shown this to a friend at work who informed by boss that·it would be a good idea to use these at work to monitor concrete temps. Now I've built multiple remote units and I think i've got the multiple probes all reporting to the master unit.

Problem:
My master reciever has to relay the temps to a datalogger/chart recorder(slave) using MODBUS/RTU. I've checked out the specs and i've got some modbus simulation software so I can check what I build but I think implementing this is a bit beyond me as i've only just nailed basic serial comms. What would be great is if someone has written a spin object already or if someone could break down what would be involved in writing my own driver. I've searched the forums already but to no avail.

Thanks for any help and sorry for the really long post.

·

Comments

• LawsonLawson Posts: 870
    edited 2007-01-25 06:40
    um... can't help you with MODBUS but StampDAQ and StampPlot should work as a temporary solution.

stampDAQ http://www.parallax.com/html_pages/downloads/software/software_stampDAQ.asp

StampPlot lite http://www.parallax.com/html_pages/downloads/software/stamp_plot_pro_info.asp

StampPlot Pro http://www.parallax.com/html_pages/downloads/software/stamp_plot_pro_info.asp