Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Display an encoder count on the 2.5" LCD display — Parallax Forums

Display an encoder count on the 2.5" LCD display

tbriggstbriggs Posts: 9
edited 2007-12-29 04:03 in Propeller 1
I am new to the propeller and am experimenting with an optical encoder. I am trying to read the encoder with the rotary encoder object and then display the count on the 2.5"LCD display. I am sure this has been done. Does someone have some code that does that so I can play around?

Thanks!

Comments

• QuattroRS4QuattroRS4 Posts: 916
    edited 2007-01-24 05:14
    what type of connection does your LCD have ?
  • Graham StablerGraham Stabler Posts: 2,507
    edited 2007-01-24 08:51
    He means the 2.5" LCD TV screen I assume.

Have a look at the TV text demo, it should not be too much of a stretch to add a loop and get it to display the count.

Graham
  • QuattroRS4QuattroRS4 Posts: 916
    edited 2007-01-24 19:44
    Yeah Graham I was wondering if that is what he meant. I didn't know if we were talking vga,tv,serial lcd ... either way loads of objects out there.
  • tbriggstbriggs Posts: 9
    edited 2007-01-24 21:19
    Sorry about that. It is the 2.5" LCD that comes with the accessory kit.
    The problem I am having is the encoder reading part. I have looked at the TV demo and have played with it. I guess I am not exactly sure how the encoder part works. I connected the encoder up to the bread board but I cannot tell if I am reading the encoder or not.

When I get home from work I will post my code.

Thanks!
  • squidxsquidx Posts: 33
    edited 2007-01-31 19:12
    Hi, I'm trying to do the exact same thing, but I'm a little confused with the encoder pinout. I'm using the TRD S/SH 6-wire version (AD/BD). The Quadrature Encoder spin file says to connect the encoder to two contiguous pins. So which of the wires should I be connecting? They are named Out A, Out B, Out Z, power, ground, and 0 volts.