Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Generating True UltraSonic sound! ( need help ) — Parallax Forums

Generating True UltraSonic sound! ( need help )

Gremlin5205Gremlin5205 Posts: 3
edited 2007-02-07 20:04 in Learn with BlocklyProp
hello, Im new to the world of stamps, and not to familer with the other things that might be avalible. I am trying to get my hands on a stamp that will

1. allow me to genorate several db ( decibles ) of ultrasonic sound.
2. able to be controlled through visual basic ( the programming lang. )

if you can help let me know.

thanks,

Tim

Gizmo5205@pacbell.net

Comments

• Mike GreenMike Green Posts: 23,101
    edited 2007-01-19 00:34
    Important details:
    1) What kind of frequency range are you talking about? What kind of beam of ultrasound are you talking about? Most transducers are directional
    and have different beam widths. Any ideas about what transducers you would use?
    2) The Stamp is limited in how much power it can switch. Typically, it switches between 0 and +5V with a current up to about 20ma. That's about
    100mw of power. A Stamp can control a transistor or other external switch that can switch more power. Essentially, the Stamp can generate
    a pulse train at a frequency up into the ultrasound range. It can use the FREQOUT command to generate a sine wave up into the ultrasonic range.
    The BS2 and BS2p can generate this up to 32KHz. The BS2sx and the BS2p series can generate this up to 50KHz (approx.) and some models can
    go well over this. To drive a transducer using this, you'll need some kind of amplifier for any significant amount of power.
    3) A Stamp can communicate using standard serial communications. It can interface to many PC's directly via their serial COM ports or via a USB
    to serial adapter. The PBasic manual goes into some significan detail in the sections on the DEBUG, DEBUGIN, SEROUT, and SERIN commands.