Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
GPS/satellite modem help needed — Parallax Forums

GPS/satellite modem help needed

tvtv Posts: 5
edited 2007-01-21 23:33 in BASIC Stamp
I am new to the basic stamp world and need help on a quick learning curve. I have a BS2, Parallax GPS, DS1620 thermometer and a Iridium satellite modem. I need to get the GPRMC striing from the GPS, a temp reading and send it out via the satellite modem. I am trying to put together a program that will do the following:

Blink LED when powered up (done...yes this was easy)

Power up GPS - wait for GPRMC string, store in buffer, Power down GPS (sort of successful....but not quite there)

Get temp reading from DS1620, store in buffer

Power up modem, send AT command to accept data in buffer, load BS2 buffer data (GPS string and temp) into modem buffer, send AT command to modem to send message, power down modem

Sleep BS2 for 1 hour, then repeat starting at "Power GPS"

It all sounds pretty simple and I have accomplished bits and pieces of everything but my skills are still very basic. Anyone willing to help out? I can give more details when needed. Yes, I am in a time crunch on this.
Thanks,

Comments

• Kevin WoodKevin Wood Posts: 1,266
    edited 2007-01-18 03:35
    Is this a homework project?
  • FranklinFranklin Posts: 4,747
    edited 2007-01-18 03:40
    You say you have bits and pieces.. Which parts do you have, and can we see them?

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    - Stephen
  • tvtv Posts: 5
    edited 2007-01-18 06:00