Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Reptile Cage Controller — Parallax Forums

Reptile Cage Controller

edited 2007-01-12 19:07 in BASIC Stamp
First off, I'm new to Basic Stamps, but have done some basic programming, so I'm not clueless on the subject.

I'm building a cage for my Iguana and want to control a few things. I'd like to be able to turn on and off the heat lamps depending on temperature and also turn on a misting system depending on the humidity. I also want to be able to turn on the lights in the morning and back off at night. This is not essential as I can always just use a plug in timer. Whatever is cheapest.

What do you guys suggest?

I noticed that Parallax sells a temperature/humidity sensor. This seems like it would be perfect for my application and give me two sensors in one. Also, the BS1 USB board looks like it would provide all I need and it's nice and compact. Any opinions?

How would I go about turning the lights on and off? I.E. - Would I be able to use a high output to trigger a relay to turn on the lights? Do the outputs output 5v?

Thanks!

Comments

• CCraigCCraig Posts: 163
    edited 2007-01-11 14:59
    Nitro,

This is a very common project. There are lots of examples that will help you. Some may not be written exactly for PBasic, but will help you in any case. This could turn in to a big project for the first timer who has not build homebrew circuits before. Here's MHO and I hope others will comment and add.

First, the BS1 USB will work fine, BUT you will need a solderless prototype board. If you don't have one, you will have to buy one. The Board of Education board might be a better option. I know money is tight, but this gets you upgraded to BS2 and the prototype board. (I think you should consider the BS2 instead of the BS1). The drawback is: once you get things working, you'll have to transfer it over to a solder on board. (more $$).