Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
MOSFET part numbers (Bi-directional level shifter) ? — Parallax Forums

MOSFET part numbers (Bi-directional level shifter) ?

Areal PersonAreal Person Posts: 197
edited 2007-01-07 12:18 in Propeller 1

Hi,
·
I’m trying to locate the correct MOSFET’s for building a Bi-directional level shifter
for the I2C-bus, which is what I understand I need in order to use 5v FRAM chips as a Propeller EEPROM replacement. I’ve read the Philips Application Note AN97055.
·
After reading posts talking with Mouser & Digi-Key I’m confused and don’t know what part to buy.

The Philips doc suggests a BSN10 for the MOSFET, however I can’t find it anywhere.
·
Does anyone have a good part number I can use for this part. I’m new to electronics.
This may be a basic part, but the techs at Mouser can find the right part based on my description.
·
Thanks,
-Areal

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
I have a tree growing out of my head, but

what do you expect ? I'm a programmer.

Comments

• Luis DigitalLuis Digital Posts: 371
    edited 2007-01-05 19:03
    It based on Datasheet:
    http://www.ortodoxism.ro/datasheets/philips/BSN10.pdf

It can serve:

Digi-Key Part Number VN2222LLGOS-ND

You also first to test with some used that have by hand.
  • Areal PersonAreal Person Posts: 197
    edited 2007-01-05 19:10
    Thank you so very much ! I'm ordering today.

-Areal

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔

• Tracy AllenTracy Allen Posts: 6,656
    edited 2007-01-05 19:42
    I've used the VN10 in that circuit. The Supertex part from Mouser costs two bits.

Another good bet is the BS170 or the 2N7000 from Fairchild for about half the price (also available from Mouser). I haven't tried those, but they meet the critcal spec from AN97055, an Rds of less than 100 ohms with a Vgs of 2.5 volts. They are all available in both TO92 and SOT23 packages.