Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Switching battery between charger and load — Parallax Forums

Switching battery between charger and load

SSteveSSteve Posts: 808
edited 2006-12-30 23:44 in General Discussion
I'm designing an SX-based device to switch power to the amplifiers on my home theater system. I've got the software done, but I have very little hardware experience so I'm hoping I can get a little help.

Part of the setup is a car audio crossover that's been modified for my application, a 12V lead-acid battery to power it, and a charger for the battery. Currently I have a mechanical break-before-make switch that either connects the charger to the battery or the battery to the crossover. I'm trying to control these connections from SX pins. Here's what I've come up with so far:

attachment.php?attachmentid=44790

Here's what I think should happen: When RD1=1 and RD0=0, the battery will be connected to the crossover. When RD1=0 and RD0=1, the charger will be connected to the battery. When RD1=1 and RD0=1, the battery won't be connected to anything. Is that correct?

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
OS-X: because making Unix user-friendly was easier than debugging Windows

links:
My band's website
Our album on the iTunes Music Store

Post Edited (SSteve) : 12/29/2006 12:00:51 AM GMT
689 x 345 - 12K

Comments

• Chris SavageChris Savage Parallax Engineering Posts: 14,406
    edited 2006-12-29 19:34
    Steve,
    ·
    ·· One thing you should probably plan into the circuit is a fail-safe…What if the SX is not powered? ·In this case the default state of the MOSFETS will be both connected. ·What you need to do is change things around so that the MOSFETS are connected through a small resistor (say, 220 Ohm) to the I/O pins and that they have 10K pull-down resistors on them. ·That way the default state would be off if the controller was off. ·I hope this helps.· Take care.

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    Chris Savage
    Parallax Tech Support
  • SSteveSSteve Posts: 808