Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
A sprinkler controller! — Parallax Forums

A sprinkler controller!

technofrogtechnofrog Posts: 3
edited 2006-12-27 23:29 in General Discussion
Hi all, I'm trying to design an irrigation system for my house. I have little experience in working with triacs/AC power in general, so could somebody look at/critique this output board schematic for me? Any suggestions/constructive criticism would be much appreciated. I've based the design on others found in these forum threads:

http://forums.parallax.com/forums/default.aspx?f=21&m=151374&g=152043#m152043
http://forums.parallax.com/forums/default.aspx?f=5&m=6127&g=6250#m6250

My specific questions are:

- How do I size the limiting resistor that comes through the optoisolator and triggers the triac via the 24VAC line?
- Are the smoothing capacitors found in Bullwinkle's design completely necessary?
- Is carrying the 24VAC line through edge connectors a feasable idea? If so, what sort of edge connectors/headers do you reccommend? I have no idea how to even begin to choose this sort of component.
- Does anybody have any advice/links on how to build a power supply that will give me the +5V and 24VAC lines that I need from wall power?

My house has a huge (24 station!) system, so the idea is to make three of these smaller output boards and carry the +5V, 24VAC, and control signals for the shift registers via edge connectors, and control the whole mess from a "motherboard" that has yet to be designed that contains the uController, inputs from the power supply, and COM terminal for the sprinkler valves.

The schematic is attached as an Eagle Lite file and as an image....

Thanks!
1749 x 1281 - 34K

Comments

• Chris SavageChris Savage Parallax Engineering Posts: 14,406
    edited 2006-12-27 03:43
    This message is being moved from the Completed Projects Forum to the Sandbox Forum.

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    Chris Savage
    Parallax Tech Support
  • T ChapT Chap Posts: 4,223