Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Connecting 14 bit transducer — Parallax Forums

Connecting 14 bit transducer

JulianNottJulianNott Posts: 1
edited 2006-12-27 00:53 in BASIC Stamp
I have never used Parallax / BS before and would very much appreciae advice about connecting a transducer.

Is there any difficulty connectinga transducer with a 14 bit RS-232 serial output to a BS2 and controlling it with SERIN SEROUT or SHIFTIN SHIFTOUT?

The transducer I am thinking of using is on this page:

http://www.allsensors.com/products/products_industrial.htm

See 14 bit digital output at the bottom. I plan to use the barometer.

I am not clear if I should use synchronous or asynchronous control.

What I hope to achieve is a system that will accept a program via USB from a PC, [noparse][[/noparse]control if needed and] accept data from a transducer, carry out some simple instructions and close a relay if certain conditions are met.

So I'm open to any general advice.

This transducer is quite expensive, $150 or more I think. It would be equally possible to use a transducer and A/D converter. But I'm happy to spend money to save time.

Just about the only constraint is that I want to be able to use BASIC since this is the only language I know. If there is a seamless way to convert from BASIC between my keyboard and the processor that would be fine.

Any advice and suggestions very much appreciated.

Season's greetings:

-- Julian

Julian Nott www.NOTT.com

Comments

• RickBRickB Posts: 395
    edited 2006-12-27 00:53