Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Propeller EEPROM Upgrade ? — Parallax Forums

Propeller EEPROM Upgrade ?

Areal PersonAreal Person Posts: 197
edited 2006-12-21 17:04 in Propeller 1
Ok,

I'm trying to upgrade·my single 32k·EEPROM (DIP) on my breadboard setup
to 4-64k Ramtron FRAM chips. They come in SOIC and DFN.

I checked on prices for SOIC to DIP converters and there $7.00 each.

What should I do to be able to use the FRAM chips on my breadboard ?

Whats the best solution ?

-Areal

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
I have a tree growing out of my head, but

what do you expect ? I'm a programmer.

Comments

• Mike GreenMike Green Posts: 23,101
    edited 2006-12-20 18:34
    The Ramtron I2C devices run off 5V, so you need to look at the sticky thread on connecting 5V devices to the Propeller. You basically need two MOSFETs in a voltage converter circuit you can get in that thread or from Philips' I2C web pages. Philips also makes an IC that does the same thing. You will need a little daughter-board that plugs into the DIP socket with a short cable. There are only 4 wires that need to be connected from the DIP socket .. SDA, SCL, Vcc (+3.3V), and Vss (ground). You'll also need a separate wire to supply +5V. The SDA and SCL signals go through the voltage converter to all of the SDA and SCL pins of all 4 FRAM chips. The ground gets connected to all the grounds of the voltage converter and the FRAM chips. The +3.3V connects to the voltage converter and the +5V connects to the FRAM chips. On the 64K Ramtron chips, A0 is not connected. The A1 and A2 address selects should be connected to either ground or +5V so that each chip has a different address select code.

This is a bit of work, but should be straightforward. Both the sticky thread and the Philips website discuss in great detail what you have to do to use a mixture of +5V and +3.3V I2C devices.
  • rokickirokicki Posts: 1,000
    edited 2006-12-20 18:43