Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
How do you pass a global variable long to DAT block assembly code??? — Parallax Forums

How do you pass a global variable long to DAT block assembly code???

AmateurJackAmateurJack Posts: 4
edited 2006-12-21 00:16 in Propeller 1
Hey everyone, I'm just starting out with the Propeller package and I am indeed impressed. Have hit a MAJOR SNAG, I can't succesfully read global variable value in a dat block assembly operation. I have tried addressing and read the manual, but can't figure it out. Example:
VAR
long time

PUB MAIN
cognew(@start, 0)

repeat
time := time +1

DAT

long t, @time ???????
RDLONG t, @time ??????
waitcnt clkfreq, t

QUESTION: How does one read what the value of time is in the main function at a certain point in time, from the DAT block , in ASSEMBLY? How do you put it in registers? I've tried specifying specific registers, like $1EF and thing like that, but cant get it to work. Can someone please help or point me in the correct direction? It would be much appreciated. Thanks,
-Jack

Comments

• AmateurJackAmateurJack Posts: 4
    edited 2006-12-20 10:17
    Correction, example code goes like:

PUB MAIN
    cognew(@start, 0)

repeat
    time := time +1

DAT

long t, @time
    :start RDLONG t, @time
    waitcnt clkfreq, t
  • Mike GreenMike Green Posts: 23,101
    edited 2006-12-20 15:50
    1) There are some examples in a "sticky" thread called "Assembly Code Examples for Beginners". Please look at them.
    2) You're using ":start" which is a local label. This is used only where you need a label (like for a jump) that is only defined for a few lines of code (between two regular labels). It shouldn't be usable outside the DAT block. Use a regular label (without the ":").
    3) The label in the COGNEW statement is that of the first memory location to be loaded into the cog AND the first location to be executed. The "long" that you have at the beginning of the DAT effectively doesn't exist to the cog routine.