Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Why isn't it for beginners and what defines beginner. — Parallax Forums

Why isn't it for beginners and what defines beginner.

aliasalias Posts: 2
edited 2006-12-24 19:41 in Propeller 1
I am trying to get into microcontroller programming.· I see reference to not for beginners but more intermediate and advanced.

What is the definition of a beginner?

I have been a software engineer for 12 years, know C, C++, and .NET.
Was a Navy Electronics Tech as well.

I have never actually programmed microcontrollers.

Am I a beginner? Or could I potentially figure out the Propeller?

Chris

Comments

• crgwbrcrgwbr Posts: 614
    edited 2006-12-19 19:51
    alias,

I would by no means call you a beginner with programming, however the propeller still could be a bit much for the first time microcontroller user.· I would suggest starting out with a BS2 or SX, then after a couple monthes switch to the propeller.· I'm sure you would do fine starting out with the propeller, but the learning curve might just be steep enough to get you frustrated and stop using micros all together.· A good place to start might be the Robotics with Boe-Bot kit.

Just my $0.02,

crgwbr

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    NerdMaster
    For
    Life
  • Dennis FerronDennis Ferron Posts: 480
    edited 2006-12-19 19:52
    Well potentially anyone could learn any microcontroller, given enough determination. Some present a steeper learning curve than others.

I would recommend starting out with the Basic stamp because that's how I started and it served me well. However, although the Propeller is a "more advanced" thing to learn than the Basic Stamp, compared to microcontrollers from other companies, the Propeller is remarkably easy to use. There's no reason it couldn't be someone's first microcontroller.