Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Which SD-MMC Card ? — Parallax Forums

Which SD-MMC Card ?

Areal PersonAreal Person Posts: 197
edited 2006-12-20 01:44 in Propeller 1
·
Ok,
I’m trying to figure out what SD-MMC Card solution(s) to use. Application is not important, I’m just trying to hook them up on a breadboard with·my Propeller chip. I’m thinking about the DosOnChip solution. It looks easy to use, and I like DOS.
·
I’m new to electronics. So I need a simple solution that a novice can do, However, I’m not sure if it would
be difficult to just hook this up…
·
http://www.sparkfun.com/commerce/product_info.php?products_id=204
·
What else would I need (besides the card) to make this solution go? Is it complicated
for a beginner ? This sayes it’s a breakout board, is that all I need ? What software object
do I need to use?
·
Starting out I will be using Mike’s Propeller OS.
·
I can’t use EEPROM, because they only last for 100,000 times or so.
·
I would like to use something that would in·support a FAT16/32 etc. file system.
·
What should I do ?

P.S. There out of the DosOnChip at Sparkfun·shakehead.gif··
Thanks,
·
-Areal Person

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
my.php?image=tastyled200cv2.jpg

Comments

• Mike GreenMike Green Posts: 23,101
    edited 2006-12-18 20:47
    There are a variety of MMC/SD FAT16 card interfaces for microcontrollers:
    1) Rogue Robotics uMMC. I've used the similar uMP3 in one project with a Stamp1. It worked, but unreliably. This was a continuously running sound installation and there was some kind of problem with the firmware that would cause it to hang after a few hours. A reset would clear the problem, but this was not an acceptable solution. The problem with the uMP3 was never fixed to my knowledge.