Propeller and AVR's — Parallax Forums

Propeller and AVR's

Eric PetersonEric Peterson Posts: 2
edited 2006-12-13 02:36 in Propeller 1
Hello,
·
I am new with the Propeller and here is my situation:
·
I need the Propeller to communicate with several Atmel AVRs on a shared bus. I am very limited as far as pins on the bus so I was hoping to use UART's·at TTL levels and incorporate·tri-state ability for the AVR transmitters. Another option would be to use the SPI (MOSI,MISO,SCK) on the AVR's. So my questions are:
·
1. Is there·a source code object that would allow the Propeller to talk to the AVR's using their·SPI?
·
2. Is I2c an option?
·
3. Is there a simpler method than tri-stating the transmitters on the AVR's?
·
Any info is greatly appreciated.
·
Eric···

Comments

• Mike GreenMike Green Posts: 23,101
    edited 2006-12-12 15:54
    1) SPI varies so much from device to device that there are several device specific routines already in the Propeller Object Exchange Library. Use the routines in the BS2 compatibility library for examples (SHIFTIN and SHIFTOUT), but you will have to tailor them for your specific circumstances.

2) There is an I2C master package also in the Object Exchange Library written in SPIN. I have an assembly I2C routine that's part of the Propeller OS that is usable on its own as well.