Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
NEWBIE, looking for a starting place ....... — Parallax Forums

NEWBIE, looking for a starting place .......

Frankfern123Frankfern123 Posts: 35
edited 2006-12-13 01:25 in General Discussion
Hi everyone and thanks for your help in advance, I am new to this but not new to electronics being I have a degree from De'Vry I recieved back in 1988.

What I'm looking for is a place to start learning all I can about these devices and especially how to program them. I have been in the automotive performance aftermarket for many years and I now want to start adding my own electronic controls to the electro-mechanical hardware items I've been desinging for others for so many years.

I am completely new to stamps on the design and programming end. My goal is to use stamps for creating various "Black Boxes" to contol my systems with a simple GUI for the end user to set them up for thier applications. I have a myriad of designs that I have kept to myself and I now want to get them out there.

So in other words talk to me like a 2 year old in where I start to where I finish.

Thank you very much and I cant wait to get this ball rolling, or tires smoking·in my case jumpin.gif ..

Comments

• PJAllenPJAllen Banned Posts: 5,065
    edited 2006-12-10 20:22
    Go to the Parallax site www.parallax.com

Then go to the Downloads section and start... Downloading.
  • Frankfern123Frankfern123 Posts: 35
    edited 2006-12-10 20:30
    Been there, but I still dont have a clue, I guess my big question is what is PBASIC and how do I learn it from a standing start. Unltimately what do I use to create a GUI for end users to change the operating parameters to suit thier applications.

Must of my designs have a stepper motor in them to control various fluid functions and pressures based off transducer feedback signals in Vac/Boost.
    edited 2006-12-10 20:34
    Download the PBASIC IDE (programming software), here: