Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Newbie Here — Parallax Forums

Newbie Here

RayNMRayNM Posts: 5
edited 2006-12-08 22:38 in BASIC Stamp
I have been reading up about the basic stamp and now I wonder which would be the best for my application.
I want to interface it to the output of a differential integrator and try to get some useful info on a low level signal. Actually this is part of a PI metal detector and I want to be able to both read the data and control the various amplifier and timing stages of the detector. So if someone could give me a clue on which of the stamps I should purchase it would really help.
Thanks
Ray-nm

Comments

• Mike GreenMike Green Posts: 23,101
    edited 2006-12-08 18:45
    It depends on a lot of information that you haven't given yet. In particular, what kind of information do you actually want to process. Is it already in digital form? If not, what's the voltage range, accuracy desired, sample rate, etc.? What means do you have to control the amplifier and timing stages of the detector? Do you need digital signals? What format? Are they analog? What's the voltage range, accuracy desired, update rate? Assuming this is all analog, you will need analog-to-digital converters and digital-to-analog converters. In very simple circumstances, the Stamps can do this, but very slowly and with limited accuracy. On general principles, I'd suggest a Stamp in the BS2p series. They have some extra capabilities (statements) that the other Stamps do not.
  • RayNMRayNM Posts: 5
    edited 2006-12-08 20:15