Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Storage and Retrieval BS2 — Parallax Forums

Storage and Retrieval BS2

rmnsc1v16rmnsc1v16 Posts: 7
edited 2006-12-08 02:00 in BASIC Stamp
I am fairly new to the Basic Stamp (have worked with it for about 5 months on and off).· I am presently helping some of my classmates with a project on which they will be taking temperature readings at about 10 000ft.· I have been able to calibrate the thermisistor to accurately measure temperature using an RC circuit, but since they may not retrieve their device before the battery runs out, I am not positive what the best way to store and retrieve their would be.

So my question,·· how do I store information to be later retrieved using a BS2 stamp?·
Could someone demonstrate a very simple example of code?

Thank you all

Comments

• allanlane5allanlane5 Posts: 3,815
    edited 2006-12-07 15:21
    An SPI eeprom (24LC640?) can be easily interfaced using SHIFTIN/SHIFTOUT commands. And it will hold data with the power off.

Using the WRITE command, you can write to the internal EEPROM of the BS2. However, the BS2 has a limited number of write cycles allowed to each location of the EEPROM. In normal use this is not a problem -- you have like a million writes. But during testing and debug you MUST be careful not to WRITE to the internal eeprom in a run-away loop, or you can 'wear out' locations.
  • rmnsc1v16rmnsc1v16 Posts: 7
    edited 2006-12-07 15:36
    Once you write to EEPROM, disconnect serial cable, and power, how do you go back and retrieve that data that you wrote?
  • Bruce BatesBruce Bates Posts: 3,045
    edited 2006-12-07 15:40
    rmnsc1v16 -

The answer to your question very much depends on a couple of things.

1. How much data do you need to save? (I.E. A total of 200 bytes)

2. How often do you need to save it? (I.E. 3 bytes every 2 minutes)

3. Does the data need to be transportable - say to an off-site PC for analysis?