Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Programming cable for propellor — Parallax Forums

Programming cable for propellor

TransistorToasterTransistorToaster Posts: 149
edited 2006-12-07 06:43 in Propeller 1
Hello,
I'd like to as a few total newbie questions. I am trying to figure out what I need to buy to get started with the Propellor and use it for video output.
1. Do I need to buy a propellor plug if I have a USB2SER?
2. Is the most minimalist standalone system for the Propellor simply a 24lc256 , 5V and 3.3V regulator? (I could program the Propellor through USB2SER and a header, so I would not include them on the board that has the Propellor)
3. Where do I find sample code, or an application note, for NTSC video?
Frank

Post Edited (transistortoaster) : 12/7/2006 6:08:48 AM GMT

Comments

• Bill HenningBill Henning Posts: 6,445
    edited 2006-12-07 06:01
    most minimal setup is a propeller, and the three transistor circuit hiding on the forums somewhere... but then you need to download the program from the PC whenever the propeller is started up, so its wise to get the eeprom [noparse]:)[/noparse]

I just wired up a propeller, 3 transistor RS232 interface, three eeprom sockets, and brought the 28 other I/O pins to headers [noparse]:)[/noparse] and I am currently jumpering P24/P25/P26 to the resistor network for TV output for debugging, and P27 to an LED.

Please note that you need to decouple DTR with a capacitor and invert it so you can connect it to the reset pin on the propeller.

A 10uF electrolytic capacitor is advised between Vout and GND on the 3.3V regulator, and 0.1uF ceramic caps between power and ground on both sides of the propeller can't hurt.
  • Mike GreenMike Green Posts: 23,101
    edited 2006-12-07 06:09