Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
atom? — Parallax Forums

atom?

Johnny-5Johnny-5 Posts: 34
edited 2006-12-02 12:28 in General Discussion
what is atom? i have seen that term on a few robot related sites.

Comments

• LoopyBytelooseLoopyByteloose Posts: 12,537
    edited 2006-11-30 11:11
    A competator to the BS2 .
    Since the Propellor came along with better video, not much use.

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    "If you want more fiber, eat the package.· Not enough?· Eat the manual."········
    ···················· Tropical regards,····· G. Herzog [noparse][[/noparse]·黃鶴 ]·in Taiwan
  • Johnny-5Johnny-5 Posts: 34
    edited 2006-12-01 18:19
    so its a microcontroller? im a noob so im not really familiar with the propeller either.
  • GadgetmanGadgetman Posts: 2,436
    edited 2006-12-01 20:57
    It's a copy of the BS2.

They brag about higher execution speed, and possibly also, interrupts.

What they DON'T brag about is the lack of a forum like this one here, which is worth much more than a bit of speed...

And no, neither it nor the BS2 are microcontrollers.

They are 'computers the size of a stamp'.
    That is, they have the peripherals needed to make it useful integrated on the board, together with the CPU(which in this case is a microcontroller)
    you can take one of these, stick it on a breadboard, add a poer source(a 4xAApack or a PP3 battery, maybe) and hook up a serial cable.
    Presto, you have a complete system.

with a microcontroller, you need to add a voltage regulator, a crystal or resonator(well, sometimes. Some can generate their own clock internally), level shifters or buffering circuits for the serial link, some sort of Firmware and so on.