Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Powering the BS2 — Parallax Forums

Powering the BS2

SouLJahSouLJah Posts: 35
edited 2006-11-27 00:48 in BASIC Stamp
Hey I'm pretty new to electronics, and·I have a real simple question, and I'm sure·I will get a lot of responses.· I have a bs2 on a board of education board, and I know the microcontroller can be powered with up to 12VDC, my question is if I connect a 12V battery to the Board, will it fry the microcontroller, if so why?? And if not why not??

Comments

• Aristides AlvarezAristides Alvarez Posts: 486
    edited 2006-11-25 23:34
    Hello,
    You can find a table with information regarding power supplies based on the combination of microcontroller and carrier board you have:
    http://www.parallax.com/html_pages/products/componentshop/power.asp

All of our boards are meant to be connected to VDC supplies, so your battery is just fine. The label in the USB PCB (Printed Circuit Board) is trying to cover all the possible module combinations that you could plug in it and that’s why it states 6-9 Volts. As you can see in the table in the link above, you can use 12 Volts with the BS2 microcontroller in the BOE.

Regards,

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    Aristides Alvarez
    Education and Technical Support Manager
    Parallax, Inc.
  • Martin HebelMartin Hebel Posts: 1,239
    edited 2006-11-25 23:34
    The board has a 5V regulator on which will regulate any input from 6.5V to 28V down to 5V, as does the BASIC Stamp itself (input range will be different). But, the board's regulator will become hotter as the input input voltage increases coupled with whatever current is drawn, so while 12V works fine though a little warm, anything above that may become very hot. I'm not sure about the regulator on the BS2 itself as to maximum input. 12V battery will be ok.

-Martin

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    Martin Hebel
    StampPlot - Graphical Data Acquisition and Control