Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
autonomous go-cart — Parallax Forums

autonomous go-cart

Mr. RichardMr. Richard Posts: 51
edited 2007-03-21 01:16 in Learn with BlocklyProp
Hi, I am new to microcontrollers and the like and I was wondering if anyone has experience with this.

I a High school teacher who just bought a BS2 board of education kit. My teaching partner wants students (me) to make an autonomous go-cart. I can build a line following robot and would like to do the same thing on a larger scale. The plan is to use a steel frame, two DC motors independently driving two wheels using one or two car batteries as a power source. I will use two swivel casters in the front.

Can I control 12-volt motors with a BS2? If so, what do I need to do?

What size motors should I look at to drive a steel frame cart (about 250 pounds with frame, batteries and rider?

Thanks for the help

Josh Richard
Technology Education Teacher
Spring Grove Area High School

Comments

• Kevin WoodKevin Wood Posts: 1,266
    edited 2006-11-24 20:51
    If you are planning on building something that will be carrying people, there are several safety implications that need to be considered in your design. Because of these implications, this might not be the best choice for a first-time project.

Have you considered starting with something on a smaller scale, such as modifying an RC car for autonomous use? It would be a good prototype for something bigger down the road.

You would be able to implement the basics of your system, with an eye towards scalability. It would also allow you time to adequately research & design your go-cart, while still learning new skills and technology.
  • PJAllenPJAllen Banned Posts: 5,065
    edited 2006-11-25 14:12
    I worked at a place once where they re-emphasized that I was "autonomous."· I was just as hog-tied there as most anywhere else.·