Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
how do i make sure sx key is still functioning? — Parallax Forums

how do i make sure sx key is still functioning?

KelvinLKelvinL Posts: 15
edited 2006-11-27 22:31 in General Discussion
Hi there

I get SX/B notice me that SX key can't be found in·COM port after few times of code writing.
Then SX key never work up anymore, how do I make sure SX key is funciton or dead?

and I also found·a problem that same code running in debug mode and run mode has different result:
· the byte value is different when sending out to RS-232. (the result running under debug mode is correct, but not in full run mode)
·Dose this happen? Or may I done things wrong?

I am·shifting from using BS2 to SX, anything I should notice?

Thanks.

·

Comments

  • BeanBean Posts: 8,129
    edited 2006-11-25 00:03
    Kelvin,
    Make sure you power supply is not dipping below 5.0 volts when the SX-Key start up.

    If you are using the OSC4MHZ setting on the device line, then serial communication will not work correctly because the internal oscillator is only +/- 8% accurate. It WILL work when debugging because when you are debugging the SX-Key supplies the clock and the SX-Key is very accurate.

    Bean.

    ▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    Cheap used 4-digit LED display with driver IC·www.hc4led.com

    Low power SD Data Logger www.sddatalogger.com
    SX-Video Display Modules www.sxvm.com
    Stuff I'm selling on ebay http://search.ebay.com/_W0QQsassZhittconsultingQQhtZ-1

    "People who are willing to trade their freedom for·security deserve neither and will lose both." Benjamin Franklin
    ·
  • KelvinLKelvinL Posts: 15
    edited 2006-11-25 02:25
    Many thanks, Bean~
    It really reacts as you said.

    Later on I added an external 20MHz crystal to it,
    but SX run in a unconstant pace, and even go to a stop (i toggled an LED to monitor it).

    Do i miss anything?

    Here is what i set to clock directives

    DEVICE SX28, OSCXT2, TURBO, STACKX, OPTIONX
    FREQ 20_000_000

    ▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    Kelvin Liao
  • BeanBean Posts: 8,129
    edited 2006-11-25 04:09
    Hmmm,
    Can you post your code ?
    Also do you have a 10K resistor on /MCLR to Vdd ?

    Bean.

    ▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    Cheap used 4-digit LED display with driver IC·www.hc4led.com

    Low power SD Data Logger www.sddatalogger.com
    SX-Video Display Modules www.sxvm.com
    Stuff I'm selling on ebay http://search.ebay.com/_W0QQsassZhittconsultingQQhtZ-1

    "People who are willing to trade their freedom for·security deserve neither and will lose both." Benjamin Franklin
    ·
  • KelvinLKelvinL Posts: 15
    edited 2006-11-25 04:57
    Hi Bean,
    I do attach a 10k resistor on /MCLR to vdd.

    The purpose of my code is to send data to a COM port by routing through MAX232 driver.
    The same code is doing by BS2 very well, and doing correctly on SX debug mode.
    Here is code below, sending out characters a~z via Max 232, it's just a test.

    Start:
    tris_a.0=1
    tris_a.1=0
    tris_a.2=1
    tris_a.3=1
    i VAR Byte
    char VAR Byte (1)

    i=0
    inchar(0)=0

    Main:
    char(0)=i+"a"
    SEROUT RA.1 ,T2400,char(0)
    PAUSE 200
    toggle rb.0
    i=i+1
    i = i // 26
    GOTO Main

    ▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    Kelvin Liao
  • BeanBean Posts: 8,129
    edited 2006-11-25 14:51
    Kelvin,
    The VAR lines should be done before the code.
    "TRIS_A.0 = 1" is not valid. Use "INPUT" or "OUPUT".
    I assume "inchar(0) =0" should be "char(0) = 0"

    Try this:

    DEVICE SX28, OSCXT2, TURBO, STACKX, OPTIONX
    FREQ 20_000_000

    i VAR Byte
    char VAR Byte (1)

    PROGRAM Start

    Start:
    OUTPUT RA.0
    OUTPUT RA.1
    INPUT RA.2
    INPUT RA.3
    i=0
    char(0)=0

    Main:
    char(0)=i+"a"
    SEROUT RA.1 ,T2400,char(0)
    PAUSE 200
    toggle rb.0
    i=i+1
    i = i // 26
    GOTO Main

    ▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    Cheap used 4-digit LED display with driver IC·www.hc4led.com

    Low power SD Data Logger www.sddatalogger.com
    SX-Video Display Modules www.sxvm.com
    Stuff I'm selling on ebay http://search.ebay.com/_W0QQsassZhittconsultingQQhtZ-1

    "People who are willing to trade their freedom for·security deserve neither and will lose both." Benjamin Franklin
    ·
  • KelvinLKelvinL Posts: 15
    edited 2006-11-27 22:31
    Hi bean,
    Thanks again,

    As you said doing "tris_a.0=1" is invalid, I wonder if you are telling me that doing so won't take any effect on INPUT/OUTPUT register,
    Or, this command is obsoleted and being replaced by INPUT command?
    The command seems correct syntactically.

    ▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    Kelvin Liao
Sign In or Register to comment.