Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
What about a simulator for the Propeller? — Parallax Forums

What about a simulator for the Propeller?

PropeleroPropelero Posts: 5
edited 2006-11-23 22:53 in Propeller 1
Hello!

I'm new at this forum. I'm a student and thinking about purchasing a Propeller Demo Board, and interested in using this microcontroller for a real-time embedded control system i have in mind, but i haven`t found yet anything similar to an emulator of this chip, and also haven´t read anything in this forum about it. So my question is... is there a project about making a simulator of the Propeller chip, or in anybody's mind? It would help me a lot for my work, because i need to see how does the Propeller use the memory in run-time.

Thanks a lot

Comments

• ciw1973ciw1973 Posts: 64
    edited 2006-11-23 18:17
    Hell, even with the current crop of PC processors running at 3Ghz+ you'd have a hard job emulating the Propeller with all eight cogs running in realtime.

Even at a basic level, and assuming the propeller instruction set matched that in the PC CPU, you'd need a processor running at 640Mhz even without the time required task switching. The fact that you would have to task switch would mean that the emulated cogs wouldn't be truly in sync, which would be a problem for many of the applications people are using the Propeller for. By the time you factor in instruction set and hardware (hub, PLL, video etc.) emulation, and any debugging interfaces that would be required to make an emualtor useful, I'd say it'd be completely out of the question.

A single (or maybe even dual) cog simulator running at full speed should be possible, although how much use it'd be I don't know. I guess you could have a non-realtime simulator which would be good for educational purposes.
  • HarleyHarley Posts: 997
    edited 2006-11-23 19:05
    Propelero,