Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Question about clock frequency and ADC with BS2 — Parallax Forums

Question about clock frequency and ADC with BS2

whymaybewhymaybe Posts: 5
edited 2006-11-26 03:26 in BASIC Stamp
Hello all,
I am a newbie of Basic Stamp. Recently I've got a used BS2 education kit from my friend and I am trying to implement it with a gameboy camera.
So here are two questions I want to ask (I've been trying to search the forum but have no luck and I am tired):
1) Is it possible to make a clock function (pulse train?) which has frequency around 500 khz (period around 2 us); I have tried two methods, one with HIGH and LOW pin which gives me about 500 us (its too slow), the other one is using Pulseout, which gives a 2 us high time but the low time takes for a while and the whole period is about 300 us. I am wondering if it is the loop thing that delay the process and I want to know how fast I could have a clock generated.
2) how fast can I read from Analog signal? say if I have an external ADC chip, how fast can the BS2 digital port read?

p.s. I am using the lowest level of BS2 controller.

Thanks a lot.

Comments

• whymaybewhymaybe Posts: 5
    edited 2006-11-24 16:13
    Does anybody have any idea about it? Its kinda urgent for my project.
    Thanks.
  • PJAllenPJAllen Banned Posts: 5,065
    edited 2006-11-24 16:24
    1)· Yes, it's the instruction execution speed that's killing you here.· BS2 has PULSOUT, but not pulse train out.· You might consider a 7555-based oscillator for this, with the BS-2 enabling/gating its output.

2)· Depends on your ADC.· If its data is serial, not so fast; if its data is parallel, fast enough (but maybe not fast enough for you.)