Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
PASM Parallax Assember query — Parallax Forums

PASM Parallax Assember query

dave29dave29 Posts: 5
edited 2006-11-25 23:40 in General Discussion
I am a relative beginner with microcontroller programming and attempting to learn
the PIC MCU. I am using "The Microcontroller Beginner's Handbook" by Lawrence A. Duarte as a tutorial guide.
The sample projects use the PIC16CXX series, (16C54, 16C55 & 16C71) and his firmware listings are all Parallax Assembly code.

I read on a few websites that Parallax had a download for PASM (parallax assembler) on their website, but I cannot find it. I am guessing the reason may be, it is considered obsolete. Does anyone know where I might find a version of PASM and PASMX?

Thanks, Dave

sample PIC coding

;Variables and equates
;
strobe     =  ra.0
random   =  ra.1
reset        =  ra.2
statest     =  ra.3

led1     =   rb
led2     =   rc
        org    8    ;start address of register variable space

count_low   ds        1    ;low byte of delay counter

count_hi      ds    1    ;high byte of delay counter

statdir         ds      1    ;left=0, right=1

stat_low    ds    1    ;status counter low byte

Comments

• UnsoundcodeUnsoundcode Posts: 1,532
    edited 2006-11-23 01:28
    Hi Dave, the SX/B compiler can use Basic or Assembly or a combination of both·for the SX range of processors.

http://www.parallax.com/sx/sxb.asp

Jeff T.
  • dave29dave29 Posts: 5
    edited 2006-11-23 02:02
    Thanks Jeff, i am not familiar with SX range of processors. I read they are Ubicom's family of 8bit MCUs.
    I am trying to program a PIC16C55 and eventually some other PIC16CXX MCUs.

Are you saying that the PASM (Parallax Assembler) is included with the SX/B compiler and I may be able
    to assemble my code within that tool?
  • UnsoundcodeUnsoundcode Posts: 1,532
    edited 2006-11-23 02:44