Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Basic Stamp 2 and Servos — Parallax Forums

Basic Stamp 2 and Servos

MikeleleMikelele Posts: 4
edited 2006-11-24 02:49 in BASIC Stamp
Hi,

I'm quite new to the forums and to microcontrollers in general so please bear with my questions. Also pardon me please if there is a thread somewhere that has laready dealt with this topic.

So to start, I have some background in programing languages and electronics. However I want to·organize my information so I have purchased a BasicStamp2 Discovery Kit from Parallax. I also purchased two standard servos to play with.

Ultimately the objective is to·master PBasic and·to learn·how to control servos. My question is: Will I need a Serial Servo Controller like the Prop1 at EFX-TEK to drive my servos or can I hook 'em up to the Discovery Kit directly?

I'd appreciate any info anyone might have or could direct me to regarding this.

Thank you =)

·

Comments

• ZootZoot Posts: 2,227
    edited 2006-11-22 15:02
    No, you do not *need* a Servo Controller, but they can be nice if you have a lot of servos to manage and want to free up your Stamp for other tasks.

That said, to run servos from your Stamp, you can check out Robotics with the Boe-Bot from Parallax for lots of wiring and code examples (see the downloads section of the Parallax site or www.parallax.com/dl/docs/books/edu/Roboticsv2_2.pdf).