Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Interfacing BASIC STAMP w/ a PC — Parallax Forums

Interfacing BASIC STAMP w/ a PC

CruxCrux Posts: 74
edited 2006-11-23 01:17 in BASIC Stamp
I need some advice about how to manipulate the serial port in order to retrieve data from a·BSII.
I need·guides for my project and Im a complete novice about·these stuffs.

I am expecting on resources on programming·windows API in manipulating serial ports and·likewise with the BS2.

Help·will be really appreciated.·

Comments

• Bill ChennaultBill Chennault Posts: 1,198
    edited 2006-11-21 15:43
    Crux--

Have you looked at Parallax's Toothpick?

I wasn't quite sure after I read the complete Toothpick online documentation so I posted a topic called Toothpick and VB·and received a reply from Parallax's Chris Savage.

You might want to take a look at it.

--Bill

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    You are what you write.
  • tj60647tj60647 Posts: 18
    edited 2006-11-21 18:18
    On the PC side, if you don't already have an IDE which makes this easy, you might consider using Microsoft Visual Studio Express [noparse][[/noparse]free].

This will enable you to use the SerialPort object in .NET 2.0.
    ///public SerialPort(string portName, int baudRate, Parity parity, int dataBits);

rs232com = new SerialPort(comport, baud, Parity.None, 8);

rs232com.Open();

rs232com.DataReceived += new SerialDataReceivedEventHandler(rs232com_DataReceived);

• Martin HebelMartin Hebel Posts: 1,239
    edited 2006-11-21 19:26
    I don't know what level you need for design, but our StampPlot Pro is a complete GUI/plotting interface. Pretty simple to design your own interface and all the serial COM stuff is done for you, and it's free for use for home/education. There are tutorials on the download page.

http://www.stampplot.com

-Martin

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    Martin Hebel
    StampPlot - Graphical Data Acquisition and Control