Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Propeller Ability Questions — Parallax Forums

Propeller Ability Questions

Keith KingKeith King Posts: 7
edited 2006-11-21 13:15 in Propeller 1
Hello everyone, I'm new to the electronics world of programming boards to do your bidding so forgive any ignorance or annoying "duh" questions.· I'm just trying to get some basic information on Parallax's products·and after speaking with Parallax's tech support, they referred me to the forums.· My only objective is to find out if any of the products Parallax sells will do what I need, and if so, which ones so I can make a purchase.

Here is some background information to help understand what I'm trying to do.· I work for a manufacturing plant and·they have me·on a project to come up with a solution for a·computer controlled (PC)·life cycle test of our pnemumatic valves.· Basically, run the valves until they die and then be able to give a·count of how many cycles the valve did before it died.· Pretty simple, right?

Knowing that, I'm looking into any/all computer controlled boards that will allow me to turn individual pins·off and on·(0 volts to·3.3+ volts)·independent of each other.· The example I have been using is I want to have one pin turn on for 500ms and off for 500ms.· Then a different pin on that same board to turn on for 50ms and off for 50 ms.· Preferably I'd like to have a·programming language like Java or C++, but I know Parallax uses Spin or assembly to control their boards.· If the hardware can do it, then I'll deal with the programming of it (I have a BS in Computer Science).· I would also like something that plugs into the USB port, but if it is scalable (I'll explain in a minute) then I don't care how it hooks up (serial, parallel, whatever).