Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
which stamp might be best for a project — Parallax Forums

which stamp might be best for a project

RadiomanRadioman Posts: 2
edited 2006-11-16 04:50 in BASIC Stamp
I need some advice as to which stamp might be best for a project and I have no experience with stamps!

I need to monitor a voltage to meet the following parameters:
A digital input going LOW is the trigger.· The voltage must be above a setpoint 50ms after the trigger goes low and must stay above the trigger while the digital input is low.
A second digital input going low will disable the monitor as there is a fault.
A third digital input going low will disable the monitor as there is a second fault.
I would like to output to a LCD or LED readout the voltage a read.
A fault will have to latch an output pin and turn an LED on.

Will the Basic I fit this bill?· I got a bunch of um to make so I could get cost prohibitive.

Post Edited By Moderator (Chris Savage (Parallax)) : 11/16/2006 3:55:12 AM GMT

Comments

• Mike GreenMike Green Posts: 23,101
    edited 2006-11-16 03:41
    The logic is very simple. The major questions are: 1) what's the voltage range? 2) how accurate does the 50ms have to be? 3) how often do you need to sample the voltage once you reach the setpoint (how quickly would it change)? 4) what kind of LCD or LED readout?

If you really do have to monitor the voltage pretty much all the time, you probably will need an SX or Propeller processor since the Stamps don't do multiple tasks at the same time. Both the SX and the Propeller can do moderate speed analog to digital conversion with only a few passive components.