Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
DC Motors and the Motor-Mind B — Parallax Forums

DC Motors and the Motor-Mind B

jhoyozajhoyoza Posts: 72
edited 2006-11-22 22:59 in BASIC Stamp
Hello,

I’m a hobbyist and not quite experienced enough to understand all of the terminology.

I recently purchased a Motor-Mind B and simply love it! In fact it is so nice, I'm going to replace the ‘cheap motor’ that drives my toy-boat. I'm looking at the motor (below) to replace it with as it would be perfect as far as rpm, nominal voltage and size are concerned.

I would be helpful to actually understand the whys and nots, and to see if this particular motor is compatible with the Motor-Mind B. Additionally I may gain insight on just how to select a DC motor for the MMB and what to look for. (Or look out for.)
motor.jpg
Specification :
Product information : Ball raced high-quality motor for use with 7 or 8 NC cells. Propeller size approx. 20 x 10 cm.
Nominal voltage 9.6 V
Operating voltage range 7.2 ... 12 V
No-load rpm 14300 min–1
No-load current drain 0.8 A
Current drain at max. efficiency 6.6 A
Current drain when stalled 55 A
Max. efficiency without gearbox 75 %

http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&sspagename=STRK:MEWA:IT&viewitem=&item=5917169256&rd=1&rd=1

MMB.jpg
MOTOR MIND B - Electrical Characteristics Characteristic (Pertinent)

Supply Voltage 6 - 36V VMOTOR voltage
Motor Current Load 6A peak / 1.75A continuous
Short circuit current limit 15 A Extended short-circuit could damage PCB traces, other components
Over-current trip point- 6 min 8 typ 10 max A The higher the temperature the lower the
trip point
Peak load current 6 A <100 ms pulsed at a period of 1S
Max continuous motor current 1.5 min 1.75 typ 2.0 max A Continuous current rating at room temp. 95% duty-cycle, resistive load.