Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Is the BASIC Stamp right for this project? — Parallax Forums

Is the BASIC Stamp right for this project?

binxalotbinxalot Posts: 5
edited 2006-11-16 01:46 in BASIC Stamp
I'm looking to build a very simple LED grid of about 24 LED lights in a grid 4x6 which I want to be able to scroll text messages·on from left to right.· Like a BETA BRITE but I'm looking to make it bigger than a beta brite and I want it to be mobile.·

Should I look into purchasing a BASIC stamp +·programming board·to accomplish this?· Is that the best route to go in order to make something like this?·I'm starting completely from scratch here as I've never programmed anything like this before, but I figured it would be a neat project to learn and I· can reuse the finished product at work.·

Any ideas?

-Binx

Comments

• Bill ChennaultBill Chennault Posts: 1,198
    edited 2006-11-14 14:53
    Binx--

Like you, I am a novice, as well. However, unlike you, I have some stuff from Parallax and my LEDs are blinking! It is marvelous! [noparse]:)[/noparse]

The Stamp comes in several flavors, most of which have 16 I/O pins that will allow you to control--often with additional circuitry--things like LEDs and relays and motors. HOWEVER, you mentioned 24 LEDs. You will have to determine how much current they draw and how many will be on at the same time and compare that to the ability of the STAMP to support directly. But, that is not what I wanted to mention: Specifically, take a look at the BS2p40 and the "Professional Development" board. The BS2p40 has not 16 I/O pins, but 32, which sounds much more ameniable to your ultimate goal.