Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Displaying Variables — Parallax Forums

Displaying Variables

eman53132eman53132 Posts: 6
edited 2006-11-16 17:12 in BASIC Stamp
I am a student at UW-Platteville doing a project for my integrated circuits class.· I am using a Basic Stamp 2, DS1620 Temperature chip, and Hitachi LCD display.· I need to·display the variable temperature·on the LCD panel.· In Basic Stamp what·is the command to display·the temperature data from the chip to the LCD.··All of our components are working properly on their own.

·

Comments

• Special_KSpecial_K Posts: 162
    edited 2006-11-09 16:38
    think you will have to use a serout define a pin and then the variable.. look in the command ref.
  • Chris SavageChris Savage Parallax Engineering Posts: 14,406
    edited 2006-11-09 17:14
    Hello,
    ·
    ·· Is this a Serial or Parallel LCD Display?· That will greatly depend on how you go about displaying information on the display, since a serial display will be able to use formatters, whereas the parallel display will not.

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    Chris Savage
    Parallax Tech Support
  • eman53132eman53132 Posts: 6
    edited 2006-11-09 23:14
    LCD display's we are using are parallel displays, with the 4 data lines, transmitting 4 bits per clock cycle
    edited 2006-11-09 23:31
    Okay,
    ·
    ·· With a Parallel Display it is not a problem, but you cannot use SEROUT and therefore you do not have access to these formatters.· It would help to know exactly what you’re trying to display, but have you tried using the code on our Parallel LCD Page?· It will certainly get you started accessing and using the display with a BASIC Stamp.

http://www.parallax.com/detail.asp?product_id=603-00006

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    Chris Savage
    Parallax Tech Support
  • charlieknoxcharlieknox Posts: 27
    edited 2006-11-10 02:30