Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Water/Electrolyte level sensor — Parallax Forums

Water/Electrolyte level sensor

bailoutbailout Posts: 4
edited 2006-11-10 13:42 in BASIC Stamp
Hey all, this is my first post here, however I've been playing with stamps since before the BS2 =). Heres the question:

I have a solution of water and electrolyte (NaOH if you care) charged with 12 volts (its an electrolyzer for hydrogen). I want to detect the water level in one of the cells with screws through PVC pipe

Heres what i've thought up.... (attached)

Am I in the right direction? Should there be more resistors in there or something, perhaps a diode on the screw. (i'm from the school of... what the heck do resistors do?) haha. Yea, I'm still learning

My main concern is not to burn up my stamp =)
438 x 354 - 12K
68 x 133 - 2K

Comments

• LoopyBytelooseLoopyByteloose Posts: 12,537
    edited 2006-11-09 09:13
    There are really two fundamental approaches with subsets.

1. In contact with the solution
    a. a float switch
    b. a conductive sensor
    2. Not in contact with the solution
    a. ultrasonic distance
    b. IR distance

I am sure we can come up with many more ways to do this, but it really all comes back to what purpose the informaton needs to serve, how dangerous is contact with the solution, and what physical limitations exist.

In regards to your design, I wonder why you bother with +12volts and a +5 volt regulator when you already have +5 regulated available on your BasicStamp.

I also wonder why you would get the physical level of the fluid involved with its electrical activity. That makes things more complex as I guess the 4volt potential might change and provide false information.