Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Which accelerometer I should use? — Parallax Forums

Which accelerometer I should use?

Henry ChanHenry Chan Posts: 5
edited 2006-11-08 14:14 in BASIC Stamp
Hi,
I've started my project on development an UAV. Now I want to balance the pitch(nose up and down) and roll movement of my plane. To my understanding, I need to use 2-axis gyro to perform this action. Unfortunately most of them are rated at 3.3V and output the analogue signal. As I'm a newbie to electronics I want a simpler device to perform this action, that is, a 5V input with PWM output for my BS2.

After I saw the documentation of the 2 axis accelerometer from Parallax(Memsic 2125 Dual-axis Accelerometer), I found that by some simple calculation it can convert to a single axis gyro. So for my application above, can I use 2 Memsic 2125(putting 90deg to each other) to perform my job? Or even simply only one Tri-Axis Accelerometer(Hitachi H48C) is enough?

Or an accelerometer cannot actually replace a gyro?

Thanks a lot
Henry

Comments

• ttessierttessier Posts: 14
    edited 2006-11-07 13:29
    Hi Henry,

A 3-axis accelerometer will provide enough information to tell you what the forces are on the aircraft, and in calm air it would be a decent way to collect information to know what the attitude is - but only until the sampling errors build up. This would be due to·small variations in the measured amounts due to·air turbulence, maybe small errors in banking and·rudder·yaw, those sorts of things that result in·errors·in the signals that will add up over time.