Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
pin tester — Parallax Forums

pin tester

bob000555bob000555 Posts: 5
edited 2006-11-06 14:28 in BASIC Stamp
Can someone help me with this program. Its ment to test pins, pins 0 and 1, 2 and 3, 4 and 5, ect. are wired together. If the pins are bad it shoud debug sayng so but even when the wirs betwen the pins are removed the debug still sayas evry thing is good. Can anyone help heres the program.
' {$STAMP BS2}
' {$PBASIC 2.5}
INPUT 1
INPUT 3
INPUT 5
INPUT 7
INPUT 9
INPUT 11
INPUT 13
INPUT 15
HIGH 0
IF (IN1 = 1) THEN DEBUG "pins 0 and 1 are good "
IF (IN1 = 0) THEN DEBUG "pin(s) 0 and/or 1 are bad "
HIGH 2
IF (IN3 = 1) THEN DEBUG "pins 2 and 3 are good "
IF (IN3 = 0) THEN DEBUG "pin(s) 2 and/or 3 are bad "
HIGH 4
IF (IN5 = 1) THEN DEBUG "pins 4 and 5 are good "
IF (IN5 = 0) THEN DEBUG "pin(s) 4 and/or 5 are bad "
HIGH 6
IF (IN7 = 1) THEN DEBUG "pins 6 and 7 are good "
IF (IN7 = 0) THEN DEBUG "pin(s) 6 and/or 7 are bad "
HIGH 8
IF (IN9 = 1) THEN DEBUG "pins 8 and 9 are good "
IF (IN9 = 0) THEN DEBUG "pin(s) 8 and/or 9 are bad "
HIGH 10
IF (IN11 = 1) THEN DEBUG "pins 10 and 11 are good "
IF (IN11 = 0) THEN DEBUG "pin(s) 10 and/or 11 are bad "
HIGH 12
IF (IN13 = 1) THEN DEBUG "pins 12 and 13 are good "
IF (IN13 = 0) THEN DEBUG "pin(s) 12 and/or 13 are bad "
HIGH 14
IF (IN15 = 1) THEN DEBUG "pins 14 and 15 are good "
IF (IN15 = 0) THEN DEBUG "pin(s) 14 and/or 15 are bad "

Comments

  • NewzedNewzed Posts: 2,503
    edited 2006-11-05 21:11
    You need a Stamp Tester.

    Sid

    ▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    Sid Weaver
    Don't have VGA?

    Newzed@aol.com
    ·
  • PJAllenPJAllen Banned Posts: 5,065
    edited 2006-11-05 22:55
    Stamp Tester, Newzed?·

    I wonder if anybody makes such a thing...
  • NewzedNewzed Posts: 2,503
    edited 2006-11-05 23:15
    You're joking, of course, PJ.· I have been making them for a long time.

    Here is a picture of one.

    Sid

    ▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    Sid Weaver
    Don't have VGA?

    Newzed@aol.com
    379 x 440 - 90K
  • PJAllenPJAllen Banned Posts: 5,065
    edited 2006-11-05 23:34
    Yes, Newzed, but you no longer include your/that link with your signature.
  • NewzedNewzed Posts: 2,503
    edited 2006-11-05 23:52
    I know, PJ, but you can only have one link.· Right now I'm into Propeller stuff.· I'll go back to the Stamp Tester in a week or so.

    Sid

    ▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    Sid Weaver
    Don't have VGA?

    Newzed@aol.com
    ·
  • allanlane5allanlane5 Posts: 3,815
    edited 2006-11-06 14:28
    "Removing the wires" converts your 'input' pins into antennas. An 'input' left 'floating' (connected to nothing, in other words) has no guaranteed value. If you really want that to work, you need to add a 10K ohm 'pull-down' to the wire network -- or to each pin. Really, if the pins are all wired together, you only need one pull-down resistor to Vss (ground) to insure all the inputs get a 'hard' zero to read.
Sign In or Register to comment.