Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Industrial project feasibility assessment. Not a do my work for me post: lookin — Parallax Forums

Industrial project feasibility assessment. Not a do my work for me post: lookin

Phils88gtPhils88gt Posts: 2
edited 2006-11-01 19:56 in BASIC Stamp
Everyone,
·· It’s a pleasure to finally have the time to post here, and perhaps retrieve a feasibility verdict based on the vast experience I assume lies in this forum. I obviously am seeking help, but I would like to at least offer the façade that I am not helpless. ·I’m a machinist, cnc programmer, and cad operator by day. I have some electronics background, and am definitely confident of my mechanical aptitude. I purchased a BS2 to learn how to program such a device for general application. My job does not require it, but I think I can apply a programmable PLC to my work.
·
·
Reason for constructing device:
·
··········· I wish to create a device which will remove a mundane task from the hands of a worker whom I deem his skills too great. A task repeatedly performed in the shop I am responsible for is to cut small lengths, 1-2”, of right hand and left hand rolled thread rod into individual parts. Currently an operator does this on a horizontal band saw. He then will chamfer both ends of the rod and place them into containers based on their size.
·
I am envisioning a device which will eliminate most of his work and make the task more pleasant to do. Currently the task is so dreaded that no one ever wants to actually do it until absolutely necessary. If it could be made easier I think it would be more plausible to have more stocked inventory. ··
·
Theoretical device components:
·
· The device will contain the following KNOWN components. I say known because I’m still new to this and my programming experience with the BS2 is limited to a few hours.
·
Serial LCD w/ keypad interface
http://www.robot-electronics.co.uk/htm/Lcd02tech.htm
·
4x3 matrix keypad