Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
PIR Sensor — Parallax Forums

PIR Sensor

Robert MartinezRobert Martinez Posts: 13
edited 2006-11-03 00:25 in General Discussion
Hello, I am a new member and very new to electronics. In the last ten years I have spent a lot of money trying to figure out how to learn about electronics. As a machinist I have always wanted to combine electronics and mechanical components. I have purchased how to software, Programming kits, servos and boards from e-bay. I've bought it all. As a business owner I have never been able to·find the time to learn in a traditional fashion.··A college student that I employ mentioned the parallax website. I purchased the BoeBot kit and I am light years ahead of the last ten years combined. My wife is a Halloween fanatic. She has been building props and dummies for years. It is now my desire to wake them up.
·
So now my question. I have purchased some PIR sensors in order to activate the voices and lights that are normally activated by a photosensor, or button. Using the PIR senor and the bs2 stamp I have learned how to light an LED or make sound with a Piezo speaker. I have a gruesome doll sitting on my porch that lets out a blood curdling scream when a button is pushed in her belly. I cut the button off and tried to make the basic stamp and PIR sensor activate. It seems that using an I/O and ground add electricity to the circuit.·What I need to do is use the breadboard and 2 ports as a switch. Can anyone lead me to a circuit that will accomplish this? I figured out how to do it with a photosensor and a flashlight but that is too obvious.

Comments

• Chris SavageChris Savage Parallax Engineering Posts: 14,406
    edited 2006-10-31 16:48
    Robert,
    ·