Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
My Propeller-based robot won! — Parallax Forums

My Propeller-based robot won!

acantostegaacantostega Posts: 105
edited 2006-10-28 08:59 in Propeller 1
yeah.gif 1st place! yeah.gif

I'm a computer engineering student at the Pontificia Universidad Catolica de Chile (PUC), which has just finished hosting the IEEE Latin American RoboCup (LARC). Me and a friend, a mechanical engineering student participated in a category called "Cowbots". As described in the competition website, www.robopuc.cl/larc:
[noparse][[/noparse]quote]
Cowbots duel: Involves custom-built (free-style) cowbots (COWboy-roBOTS) that must fight a duel between them, using a revolver and a melee weapon. Like in the free category, the robots must be fully autonomous (i.e. no external processing is allowed).

As far as I know, it's a local invention. It's pretty exciting. The robots must find their opponent, possibly using some sort of beacon (the most popular choice is an infrared emitting beacon, although a couple of robots using color vision have participated), and fire ping pong balls at it. The first bot to get hit by a ping pong ball loses.

While I was planning how to build the bot, I read about the Propeller chip and knew right away it was just what I needed. Having used other MCUs like PICs and AVRs, I found it pretty hard to combine all the I/O and AI processing in just one chip while keeping the response time of the 'bot low. I also wanted to avoid multi-chip solutions since I wouldn't to keep the complexity of the electronics as low as possible.