Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
LCD Direct Hardware Interface — Parallax Forums

LCD Direct Hardware Interface

Rockn-RollRockn-Roll Posts: 4
edited 2006-10-23 13:17 in BASIC Stamp
Hi.· I'm a college student working on my Senior Project.· I purchased the parallax 4x20 LCD (#27979).· I have the datasheet and have wired it up properly...the test works fine, and I've verified my connections.· I don't know what STAMP is, so forgive me if I'm circumventing this forum heading.· But, I see posts in here for the LCD that I'm using, so I guess this is the best place to get the information I need.

I'm writing a controller using a Xilinx Virtex 1000XCV Field Programmable Gate Array·(FPGA) and Verilog in the Xilinx Foundation ISE development software.· Basically this allows me to completely control the RX pin on the LCD.· But, I cannot find any documentation on the actual hardware signal waveforms required to display a character on the LCD.· For example, there's no information on if there is a start bit, stop bit, parity bit, etc.· Here's what I'm doing now:

RX=1;· //I hold this high initially for several seconds.
//Now I·set the RX pin at the selected baud rate to send a hex 41 which is an ASCII 'A':
RX=0;
RX=1;
RX=0;
RX=0;
RX=0;
RX=0;
RX=0;
RX=1;
//then I set RX=1 and hold it there.

Nothing happens...the cursor just sits there like I didn't do anything.· Does anyone know exactly what the signals are for the LCD RX pin to just send a single character?

thanks,
Steve

Comments

• FranklinFranklin Posts: 4,747
    edited 2006-10-22 22:58
    As you can see from this documentation the display takes serial input. I would think (but did not confirm) that it takes 8 bits, no parity, 1 stop bit. if you can make your device talk to a terminal it should talk to this display. Take a look at the documentation for more info. www.parallax.com/dl/docs/prod/audiovis/SerialLCD-v2.0.pdf

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    - Stephen
  • Rockn-RollRockn-Roll Posts: 4