Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Graphic LCD driver in new cog (code help) — Parallax Forums

Graphic LCD driver in new cog (code help)

CobaltCobalt Posts: 31
edited 2006-10-24 20:27 in Propeller 1
Hi all.

I'm new to the propeller, I've had the demo board for about a week and a half now, and I love it.· I ordered two of the 40-pin DIP chips so that I can breadboard and have access to all of the IO pins for more experiments.· I've run into a small problem that I'm hoping has a simple solution:

I have a small graphic LCD, 122x32 pixels (122 wide, 32 tall).· Its uses the SED1520 controller, and I've written an object spin file that has a few methods that can handle basic stuff for it to do.· The problem is that I want to be able to load the methods into a cog such that I can easily send data to it, and let the cog handle displaying the info.· It is also all written in spin, not assembly.

It's kind of like with the TV/VGA objects that come with the prop library, you can just use something like "lcd.out(@data)".· However, I've looked over code that loads into another cog to handle things like this, and it is all in assembly.· It also looks like the assembly is all that gets loaded into the cog, and the spin code is just extra stuff that will modify variables that the assembly portion uses.· Am I seeing this correctly?

Yeah, it may be hard to understand what I'm trying to explain (I'm not really great at that, haha), but basicly I would like help on how to·load my object with multiple methods into its own cog so I can just throw bytes at it here and there.

I haven't tried assembly yet, mainly because of the new words to use, I have about 3 years of experience with assembly with PIC microcontrollers, so most of this stuff isn't too new, just some of the coding is. Thanks!

Comments

• Mike GreenMike Green Posts: 23,101
    edited 2006-10-20 15:40