Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Tip41 Emitter voltage issue — Parallax Forums

Tip41 Emitter voltage issue

stampedstamped Posts: 68
edited 2006-10-18 14:09 in BASIC Stamp
Hi all,

I am building a basic H-Bridge and I have been having some issues with the output voltage of a Tip41 NPN power transistor. I put my H-bridge together and found that the output voltage is always ~5v, when the voltage applied to the collector is 10v. I have no problem switching the emitter "on"·by applying power to the base, but its always ~5v that is output from the emitter. Any ideas why this is so? I thought the Tip41 would output what is applied to the collector. Maybe this is wrong? I am no electrical engineer..

PS: I do not think there are any issues with the Tip41. I tried a fresh one with a simple circuit, 5v on the Base, 9v on the Collector, and the Emitter output ~5v.

I need ~9v from the Emitter.

Any help is appreciated.

Comments

• stamptrolstamptrol Posts: 1,731
    edited 2006-10-15 12:20
    Can you give us a sketch of your H-bridge along with where you're measuring the voltage?

These transistors are current driven, not voltage, so I'm a bit concerned when you say you've put 5 volts on the base.

Also, with npn's its usual for the emitter to be tied to 0 volts.

Cheers

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    Tom Sisk

http://www.siskconsult.com
    ·
  • stampedstamped Posts: 68
    edited 2006-10-15 13:38
    Thanks for the response Tom. Its a little hard to get the schematic onto the computer (its on p260 - 18.6 of Robot Builders Bonanza). It appears to be a fairly straight forward H-Bridge (4 Tip41's, 4 1-3k resistors, 4 diodes), which has two inputs one for forward and one for reverse. The actual H-Bridge base is getting around ~.7v which is switching on the emitter, which is outputting ~5v. The emitter when the base is not "on", is sitting at 0v.