Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Driving high amp device. — Parallax Forums

Driving high amp device.

JW SmytheJW Smythe Posts: 12
edited 2006-10-16 01:29 in BASIC Stamp
Hello all.

I'm new to the basic stamp stuff, but am enjoying so far. I'm a programmer, but not a great electronics guy, so I'm stumbling around in the dark a lot.

I need some advice on how to run a high amp DC device at a fairly high frequency.

I'm trying to make an automotive ignition coil spark (think Jacob's ladder).

The coil I'm using is suppose to put out 45kV with a 12V input, and should draw roughly 8A. I need to pulse the input to make it spark, which is why i'm using a basic stamp (HomeWork Board).

Several people had suggested to me to build a 555 timer circuit. I've made them work, but eventually end up burning out something, usually the 555 chip, while just testing with small loads, even though I am using a 2N3055 transistor.

I'm very pleased with the level of control I have with the basic stamp.

I'm not quite sure how to isolate the coil, without risking burning out the basic stamp. I don't feel save using the transistor. I can already smell the smoke. [noparse]:)[/noparse]

I found some mention of solid state relays. I have absolutely no experience there. What exactly should I be shopping for? Is there a better option? I'm open to suggestions, rather than just burning up a perfectly good board. Whatever I use needs to be able to handle a decent frequency. The coil can handle over 850Hz, and I'd like to try it all the way up there.

Post Edited (JW Smythe) : 10/14/2006 9:04:52 PM GMT

Comments

• Mike GreenMike Green Posts: 23,101
    edited 2006-10-14 21:19
    A high speed optoisolator would be perfect. Most optoisolators are fairly slow (10's of microseconds), but you can get high speed optoisolators with switching times around 1us which should be fine. Get a Mouser or DigiKey catalog and go through their listings
  • JonathanJonathan Posts: 1,023