Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
BS2 Motor Control via 74HC595 and ULN2803 — Parallax Forums

BS2 Motor Control via 74HC595 and ULN2803

Bill ChennaultBill Chennault Posts: 1,198
edited 2006-10-18 14:06 in BASIC Stamp
All--

This is my first attempt at a digital circuit that will control motors. Remember, that I am a rank electronics novice. In my research, both here and other places, I have noticed that many circuit diagrams include only those IC pins necessary for the project. Therefore, that is all I included in my diagram, which I drew with Visio.

The four relays shown are on an eight-relay board from Elexol via Hobby Engineering . . .

http://info.hobbyengineering.com/specs/ELEXOL-IO24Relay.pdf

The four motors shown are 6 volt or 7.2 volt (I have not decided which, yet) devices from Banebots . . .

(http://banebots.com/osc/support/gearmotor_comp.htm)

I have an obvious question: Will this circuit even come close to working? [noparse]:)[/noparse]

All told, there will probably be at least 40 motors, as this will be an 8-legged walker. (Therefore, the circuit below will form a very small part of the overall electronics.) The Stamp(s) will serve as I/O device machines. All navigation and problem solving will be done by a network of PCs talking to a tablet PC on-board which communicates with the Stamp(s).

There is also an OBVIOUS problem: I have no provision to reverse the motors. Can you suggest how this may be done? Additionally, I have not included encoder-based position control because I have not quite figured out what I am going to do, exactly. (Since this will be a walker, encoder-based position control may wind up being a simple count from, say, 0 to 60 on·each joint. Each "bone" will be activated via screw drive.)