Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
RTCC with SX/B help request on magneto/throttle project — Parallax Forums

RTCC with SX/B help request on magneto/throttle project

Ken GraceyKen Gracey Posts: 7,389
edited 2006-10-17 15:01 in General Discussion
Hey SXers:

This is my first time attempting to use the SX's RTCC ISR. This portion of the·project consists of a Honda engine magneto connected to an SX, with a servo for throttle control. The goal is to control the throttle using a known RPM. The bigger project is that I've got an alternator connected to the engine for a high-powered robot power plant for over-the-snow travel. But·this is where I'm stuck.·The signals I'm dealing with look like this (servo on top, magneto on bottom):

attachment.php?attachmentid=43493

Every 20-50 ms I generate·the servo pulse, and meanwhile I'd like to be counting magneto pulses for 1 second. The scope capture above shows the engine in an idle state, so the pulse frequency increases with RPM. I'm able to control the servo and count pulses accurately, but putting these two tasks together is where I need some help. You can ignore the R/C circuit with the potentiometer - the purpose of that was to manually set the throttle so I could test the pieces of this project before I tried to put it all together.

This is my schematic:

attachment.php?attachmentid=43494

I created some psuedo-code which compiles, though·the use of PULSOUT in the interrupt routine·will wreck the timing. How can I incorporate the adjustment of a servo timing pulse·within the ISR?·It seems like I'd use the tix counter to adjust servo pulses.·Do I need to·make a relationship between ServoVal and tix variables, so that I use tix and HIGH/LOW Servo·in the ISR to control the servo? I·would benefit from a couple more hints.·Preliminary·psuedo-code is below, so you·can understand the·approach I'm trying to take.

'
' Throttle Feedback Control.SXB
' Magneto counting for Honda Engine / alternator coupling