Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Cascading 74HC595s and 74HC165s — Parallax Forums

Cascading 74HC595s and 74HC165s

Bill ChennaultBill Chennault Posts: 1,198
edited 2006-10-04 19:29 in BASIC Stamp
All--

I am excited about expanding the Stamp's I/O capabilities using the 74HC595 (for output) and the 74HC195 (for input). Remembering that I am new to this microcontroller and IC world, would you please answer a few questions? (And, for your reference, I have the BOE with a BS2PX and a PDB with a BS2P40.)

1. How many 74HC595 devices may I cascade before I have to worry about power considerations? And, if necessary, how do I supply the additional power?

2. Is there an addressing issue involved at some point when cascading 74HC595 devices?

3. How many 74HC195 devices may I cascade before I have to worry about power considerations? And, if necessary, how do I supply the additional power?

4. Is there an addressing issue involved at some point when cascading 74HC195 devices?

The Stampworks book says that ". . . the BASIC Stamp is able to control dozens of 74HC595 outputs with the same three I/O pins." (Page 133.) The Stampworks book says something similar concerning cascading the 74HC195 for additional inputs. (Page 139.)

For me, this is an important question. It is the question that led me to the microcontroller approach and this forum in the first place. I realize the questions above are doubtless simple, but I also do not know the answers.

Thanks!

--Bill

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
You are what you write.

Comments

• Bill ChennaultBill Chennault Posts: 1,198
    edited 2006-10-04 16:04
    All--

I should have also asked if the processing time to input or output a bit is directly related to the number of 74HC595 and/or 74HC195 devices attached to the microcontroller.

--Bill

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    You are what you write.
  • Mike GreenMike Green Posts: 23,101
    edited 2006-10-04 16:10